SNAKE 

Emily Dickinson the American poet who was born in Massachusetts in 1830 and probably now considered one of the most significant American poets of all time, is one of my steadfast favourites. I dwell in possibility is beautiful and this evening I have found an odd correlation with my photo of a Grass Snake and her poem from 1866 Snake. Emily studied Botany from a young age and here is my Snake photo captured at my allotment last Summer. He was after the Strawberries and I don’t blame him!

A narrow fellow in the grass

Occasionally rides –

You may have met him – did you not

His notice sudden is –

A real visionary of her time.

B: 1830 D: 1886

‘A narrow fellow in the grass’ ~ Snake by Emily Dickinson ~ Poet
Leave a Reply

